List of IPL Purple Cap Winners All Season

Indian Premier League is known as most entertaining cricket league with lots of fours and sixes batsmen cracks all over the ground.It is very difficult for a bowler to defend when batsmen are trying to hit every bowl.And to own the Purple cap Bowler has to try and take wickets starting from the first match.

It is not an easy task to defend and take wickets at the same time. In last few seasons bowlers have used flat balls and yorkers to stop the run flow which makes IPL more interesting as we get to see a huge battle between bat and bowl. Bowlers need to have a brave heart playing IPL.

Here is The List of IPL Purple Cap Winners All Season

Season 1: Sohail Tanvir

Sohail Tanvir is a fast bowler and he plays for Pakistan.He is having a sling-shot action which is difficult to pick. At the same time, he is having a variety of deliveries which makes him special.He can bowl fast and also he can swing the ball too.He was the most wicket taking bowler during IPL season one and got first purple cap.He took 22 wickets in 11 innings with an Economy rate of 6.46. His best performance was against Chennai Super Kings when he took 6 wickets for just 14 runs.

Season 2: RP Singh

The left-handed fast bowler was on song in second IPL season.Second IPL was shifted to South Africa and African pitches are suitable for fast bowling.RP Singh was able to swing the ball well and used the good bouncer to get rid of batsmen. He took 23 wickets in 11 innings with an Economy rate of 6.98.

Season 3: Pragyan Ojha

Pragyan Ojha was the first spin bowler to pull off a Purple cap and he is still the only spinner to bag a Purple cap.Although it is very difficult for a spinner to bowl when a batman is trying to attack. Pragyan Ojha showed good intent and took 21 wickets in 16 innings while playing for Deccan Chargers.

Season 4: Lasith Malinga

Malinga is one of the best york bowlers. His round arm action helps him to bowl on a good length and he is the one who can bowl lots of perfect yorkers.He owns purple cap in 4th season by taking 28 wickets in 16 innings.He took wickets with an excellent average of 13.39 and extraordinary economy rate of 5.95.

Season 5: Morné Morkel

The South African fast bowler bowled exceeding well in 5th IPL season and bagged the purple cap.He picked up 25 wickets in 16 innings with his fast bowling while playing for Kolkata Knight Riders. Helped his team to win IPL title in 2012.

Season 6: Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Bravo is one of the most handful all-around players. He can bat when it’s required and he bowls well when it comes to the point of bowling in T20.Most wickets taking records in a season is also under his name.He picked up record 32 wickets in 18 innings with an economy rate of 7.95.

Season 7: Mohit Sharma

Another Chennai Super Kings bowler to own a purple cap was Mohit Sharma.He showed promise earlier while playing for Indian team and came with a good performance in IPL season 7.He took 23 wickets in 16 innings with an economy rate of 8.39.

Season 8: Dwayne Bravo

Yet another purple cap for Dwayne Bravo. He is the only bowler in IpL history to own a purple cap twice.With his medium pace and unique line and length, he creates problems for the batsman.He took 26 wickets in 17 innings with an economy rate of 8.14.

Season 9: Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Indian fast swing bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar gained huge reputation when he started off his career. He becomes very dangerous on a pitch that supports fast bowler.He owns Purple cap last season by taking 23 wickets in 16 innings with an economy rate of 7.50.

Click Here to see list of orange cap winners.

  List of IPL Purple Cap Winners All Season

list of purple cap holders