List of Orange Cap and Purple cap Winners All Season

Indian Premier League has an interesting way to reward top performers. The Batsman who score most runs in a season gets an orange cap.The bowler with most wickets gets Purple Cap.Nine seasons of IPL has gone so far and 9 players are able to win Orange Cap and the same statistics valid for purple cap winners.

With IPL 10 stubbed with lots of all-rounders battle for Orange or Purple cap expected to be more interesting.IPL was considered as a game of power hitters like Chris Gayle, AB Devilliers, and others.But in last few seasons, Batsman like Virat Kohli has proved it wrong by winning an orange cap in IPL 2016.With good technique and placement, a batsman can score most runs of a season.

But still, IPL is a game of cricket where we can see a bunch of Fours and sixes been hit throughout the season.It is interesting to see how a bowler saves himself from being the culprit of giving huge runs.It is not easy to win a purple cap either as a bowler only gets 4 overs in a match and in 4 overs enough wickets have to be taken.

Also Read: Who is the highest run scorer in all season?

Before moving to IPL 10 let’s just have a look at what have happened in previous seasons:

List of Orange Cap Winners All Season

IPL Season 1: Shaun Marsh

Shaun Marsh was the first one who won the orange cap in 2008.He came out with an emerging talent and won the heart of Australian team selectors. He scored 616 runs in 11 matches with an amazing average of 68.44 and brilliant strike rate of 139.68.He played some superb knocks while playing for Kings XI Punjab.

IPL Season 2: Matthew Hayden

The big man came into the picture in season 2. While playing for Chennai Super Kings he scored 572 runs with an average of 52 and impressive strike rate of 144.81.Even though he was not able to complete a single ton still he was managed to get the orange cap with his consistent performances.That why we call Australians are professional, yet another Aussie player who won the orange cap.

IPL Season 3: Sachin Tendulkar

The batsman who is having almost every batting record under his name. The little master Sachin Tendulkar was the 3rd season orange cap holder.At the time when so many people were thinking of his retirement, he played like a champion and scored 618 runs with an average of 47.53 and with a strike rate of 132.

IPL Season 4: Chris Gayle

The most powerful hitter of a cricket ball is known as Chris Gayle.He can just stand and deliver a shot. Whenever he plays a shot most of the time ball goes for a six.Chris gayle won the 4th season orange cap by scoring 608 runs with an outstanding average of 67.55 and impressive strike rate of 183.13. His highest score was 107 in that season.

IPL Season 5: Chris Gayle

Again in season 5 Chris Gayle repeated his good performance and won the orange cap yet again.He scored his highest runs in an IPL season by reaching a figure of 733 with an average of 61.08 and strike rate of 160.74.Chris Gayle is the only batsman who won the orange cap twice. He is the most run scorer in a single match too.

Also Read: Highest Run Scorer in a single IPL Match

IPL Season 6: Michael Hussey

Another Chennai Super Kings player won the orange cap as Michael Hussey scores the most IPL runs in a season during the 6th season. He equals the record of Chris Gayle by scoring 733 runs with an average of 52.35 and strike rate of 129.5.he became the 3rd Australian to win the orange cap.

IPL Season 7: Robin Uthappa

In 2014 Robin Uthappa was the major factor in winning IPL Trophy for Kolkata Knight Riders. The Opener played superbly throughout the season to score 660 runs with an average of 44 and strike rate of 137.78.He was brilliant behind the wickets too.

IPL Season 8: David Warner

Davis Warner played superbly and bagged orange cap in season 8.Playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad, he scored 562 runs with an average of 43.23 and strike rate of 156.54. In 8 season so far David was the 4th Australian to bag the orange cap.

IPL Season 9: Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli created history last year by making 973 runs in an IPL season. He is the most successful player while chasing a target.Even though Banglore team were not able to bag the IPL Title but Virat Kohli effort was outstanding.He scored his 973 runs at an impressive average of 81.90 and at a strike rate of 148.14.

Click next to read The full List of Purple Cap Holders

        List of Orange Cap Winners All Season

List of Orange Cap Holders All Seasons